introducing new worms?

If you are having problems with an existing wormery, or just need some advice - then ask it here
katie
introducing new worms?

Post by katie » Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:48 pm

Hi all, newbie here.
Forgive me if it's been asked, I've searched the forum a bit but couldnt see anything.
I got given (at my request!) a wormery for Christmas and I love it. I've got a lot of escapees but I think I get most of them.
Obviously it's cold at the moment and not much is happening but I was wondering if I bought additional worms would that speed things up? Can you introduce a new batch to an old one?
I've brought the worms in to a porch but I plan to bring them actually inside the house at night for the next few months. That's another question - can i move them between hot an d cold ok?

Many thanks!

WillyWorm

Re: introducing new worms?

Post by WillyWorm » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:30 am

Hi Katie welcome to the forum and the world of worms.
I’m not sure how many worms you started with. They normally come in units of 1000/1lb/500grams worms these all equate to about the same amount of worms. This represents the minimum viable amount of worms for starting a new bin for most people. If this was your starting amount then there is little point in buying additional worms.
The temperature at this time of year is a major limiting factor to all worm activity and as soon as the temps get above 10c day and night you will see a big difference. Anything you can do to keep the worms warm will help, even small things like siting the bin on a south facing wall will raise the temp a little.
You can introduce new worms into an existing bin with no problem.
I would not move worms between extremes of temperatures ie -5 to +70 because worms locate themselves in the best place in the bin dependent on the prevailing circumstances but in general moving worms is not a problem. Your worms will survive down to freezing point but it’s important the entire bin does not freeze.