Potatoes

If you are having problems with an existing wormery, or just need some advice - then ask it here
PeteF
Potatoes

Post by PeteF » Sat May 20, 2017 6:04 pm

Hello all
Been reading up on foods on the web..ideas etc and am finding posts etc saying that that potato skins and potatoes are not good for my worms.
I was given a bag of potatoes that were sprouting and starting to go green a bit. Can the experts please tell me if I can feed this to them. at the moment I mince all the food up prior to feeding them.
Pete

WillyWorm

RE: Potatoes

Post by WillyWorm » Sun May 21, 2017 1:16 pm

Hi pete, I'm no expert just a member like you, but here is my two pennies worth. Yes you can feed your worms potatoes. However they are slow to brake down to the form that the worms can use (this is the case with most "root vegetables" ) without some help from the worms little helper (you). Your grinder will help a lot but becareful because grinding or foodprocessing will result in a very wet feed, for this reason mix some shredded corrigated cardboard with the ground up potatoes just before feeding. I find the best way with potatoes is to boil them up skin, shoots the lot, then mash and feed. Like many other food items feed in moderation, a mixed varied diet leads to healthy worms.
It is beginning to sound like you really do have the worm bug, welcome to the club lol
Willy

PeteF

Post by PeteF » Mon May 22, 2017 11:15 am

hi Willy.. and thank you for your two pennies worth lol at the moment I couldn't make a farthings worth of advise so I do appreciate yours. and I will try boiling the spuds and adding a bit of cardboard to it prior to feeding.
Today I have just brought out a few of the egg size food I froze, as you suggested. I'd also like to ask you something else if I may.
I believe its too early for the second tray (6 weeks) but as i look at the trays they have stops on them which will give a 50 mm gap between trays.