Ants in wormery

If you are having problems with an existing wormery, or just need some advice - then ask it here
XanFranHan
Ants in wormery

Post by XanFranHan » Mon Jun 20, 2022 2:44 pm

Hi, all. I'm a newbie in the wormery world and am concerned that I have ants in my wormery. In the book of words that came with the wormery, it says this happens if you let it get too dry. I have followed the suggestions given - dampened the compost (now I have liquid in the sump), forked the compost regularly, smeared Vaseline on the base (they seem to just climb over it) and moved the wormery for three days and swept away any ants that appeared in the original location before replacing it. There are still ants in there. I'm worried about forking the worms around too much in case I damage them, so far they have not eaten anything that I have put in, some of which is now growing mould, or any of the damp newspaper and I don't want to dampen the wormery too much in case I drown them! The wormery will celebrate it's first month in existence on Thursday, so I realise it's early days. Any advice out there, experienced people?? Thanks!

WillyWorm

Re: Ants in wormery

Post by WillyWorm » Mon Jun 20, 2022 10:12 pm

Hi ants will not harm your worms but they are not an addition that most of us want in our bin.
When ants move in it is a clear indication of a dry bin wetting the bin and moving the bedding around are the best ways to deal with the problem, it may take a while but the ants will move on. You can use the liquid from the sump to wet the bin again if needed. This putting the liquid back means you will not lose any goodness from your castings.
Try not to use metal tools to fluff up your bin, I got a cheap plastic fork and trowel from a well known supermarket I think it was about £1:25 I also got a kids plastic beach spade. If all else fails use your hands (don’t forget to wash them after)

Good luck
Willy

XanFranHan

Post by XanFranHan » Mon Jul 04, 2022 8:29 am