Another newbie here in wormcity

If you are having problems with an existing wormery, or just need some advice - then ask it here
inchworm
Another newbie here in wormcity

Post by inchworm » Wed Oct 06, 2021 6:50 pm

Hi everyone,

My new wormery and worms arrived yesterday. I think/hope I followed the instructions correctly. Following advice (thanks everyone!) I put a big wheelie bin bag around my worms to stop their attempts to escape from Wormpenitentiary last night. So glad I did as this morning I started carefully looking for stragglers. I was even counting them so I could tell you all the numbers. Then I saw the biggest ball of escaped worms all together - probably about 1/3 of them as well as the stragglers everywhere. I replaced them all back in the tray with the cardboard and everything (part number 4) this morning.

I was amazed at how many worms there were in the v shaped inverted base tray (part number 3) so I moved all the worms in that plastic v shaped section that doesn't have bedding or food in back up to the tray (part number 4) with cardboard and food and everything. I have cardboaard cut to size lining the compost tray. I just wanted to check if that is a good thing to keep doing as I don't want to disturb them needlessly with light etc if they are ok down there?

I wonder on their survival chances if they actually make it out will they be able to live happy new lives in the garden? I'm feeling like a mean prison guard. I think I read the escape phase lasts a couple of weeks - is that right? Can I expect the same huge escape numbers to put back every morning? Hope I'm on the right track here!!

WillyWorm

Re: Another newbie here in wormcity

Post by WillyWorm » Wed Oct 06, 2021 11:09 pm

Hi inchworm, welcome to the world of worms. Worms are not there to compost your kitchen waste they are there to test your sanity.
If you have read the forum you will know that what you are going through is normal for most new worm keepers.