Where to start ...

If you are having problems with an existing wormery, or just need some advice - then ask it here
Wormyginner
Where to start ...

Post by Wormyginner » Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:10 pm

I’m a wormery beginner (wormginner) I have 3 year old twins who are really looking forward to receiving the wormery. I went for the 4 tray one after a bit of research. How many days do I have to leave it before feeding the worms there first meal? And do I have to leave the food to rot for a day or two before putting it in or do I just put it straight in ? And does the wormery need to be a certain temperature and humidity?

WillyWorm

Re: Where to start ...

Post by WillyWorm » Tue Apr 20, 2021 9:14 am

Good morning, the worms food can be fresh when fed to the worms but this may result in the taking a day or two for them to start on it. Nothing should be “rotten” (smelly, slimy) when it goes into your bin. It is fine if it is way past it’s best and way beyond any thing we would think about eating but not rotting, before or during the time it’s in your bin. Rotting food can easily result in anaerobic conditions developing (without oxygen) in your bin a result in your worms dying. Leaving food for a day or two is fine.
If you have just set your worm bin up leave it for a week before feeding kitchen scraps, if you have a Wormcity wormery then it will have come with some dry food, you can sprinkle a small amount of this in one area after a couple of days and repeat daily or when the previous feed as gone.
Your worms will be happy from 10c to 25c the can tolerate 5c to 30c. Your worms alway need to be moist, because they breath through their sink, the bedding should feel likes a wrang out sponge, when you squeeze it, no water should come out but it should feel damp.

Hope that helps
Willy

Wormyginner

Post by Wormyginner » Tue Apr 20, 2021 10:28 pm